ATHN Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors is made up of ATHN Affiliates, management, and consumers, as well as liaisons from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Division of Blood Disorders, the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute (NHLBI), and the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB). We are infinitely grateful for their continued dedication and professional guidance.

2022 Board Members

Christopher  E. Walsh, MD, PhD

Christopher E. Walsh, MD, PhD

Chair, ATHN Board of Directors
Associate Professor Medicine, Hematology and Medical Oncology
Mount Sinai School of Medicine
Regional Director, Region II
New York, NY

Janna M. Journeycake, MD, MSCS

Janna M. Journeycake, MD, MSCS

Immediate Past Chair, ATHN Board of Directors
Professor of Pediatrics, The Jimmy Everest Center for Cancer and Blood Disorders in Children
University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center
Oklahoma City, OK

Tamara Vogel, MBA

Tamara Vogel, MBA

Treasurer, ATHN Board of Directors
The Institute on Development and Disability
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland, OR

Sarah  O'Brien, MD

Sarah O'Brien, MD

Secretary, ATHN Board of Directors
Nationwide Children's Hospital Hemostasis and Thrombosis Center
Associate Professor of Pediatrics
Ohio State University College of Medicine
Investigator, Center for Innovation in Pediatric Practice at Nationwide Children’s Research Institute
Columbus, OH

Tyler Buckner, MD, MSc

Tyler Buckner, MD, MSc

Assistant Professor of Medicine
Hemophilia & Thrombosis Center
University of Colorado, School of Medicine
Aurora, CO

Edith Rosato, RPh

Edith Rosato, RPh

Chief Executive Officer
Hemophilia of Georgia, Inc.
Atlanta, GA

Jim Munn, RN, MS

Jim Munn, RN, MS

Program and Nurse Coordinator
University of Michigan Hemophilia and Coagulation Disorders
Ann Arbor, MI

Robert  Sidonio, MD

Robert Sidonio, MD

Emory/CHOA Comprehensive Hemophilia Program
Atlanta, GA

Duc 'Bobby' Tran, MD, MSc

Duc "Bobby" Tran, MD, MSc

Assistant Professor, Department of Hematology and Medical Oncology
Hemophilia of Georgia Center for Bleeding & Clotting Disorders of Emory
Atlanta, GA

Crystal Watson

Crystal Watson

President and CEO
American Thrombosis and Hemostasis Network
Rochester, NY

W.  Keith Hoots, MD

W. Keith Hoots, MD

NHLBI Liaison (non-voting liaison)
Division Director
Bethesda, MD

Vanessa  Byams, MPH

Vanessa Byams, MPH

CDC Liaison (non-voting liaison)
Health Scientist
Division of Blood Disorders
National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Atlanta, GA

Kathryn  McLaughlin, MPH

Kathryn McLaughlin, MPH

MCHB Liaison (non-voting liaison)
Program Officer, National Hemophilia Program
MCHB/DSCSHN/Genetic Services Branch
Rockville, MD

Steven  Pipe, MD

Steven Pipe, MD

MASAC Liaison (non-voting liaison)
Associate Professor of Pediatrics and Pathology
Laurence A. Boxer Research Professor of Pediatrics and Communicable Diseases
Director, Div. of Pediatric Hematology and Oncology
Pediatric Medical Director, Hemophilia and Coagulation Disorders Program
Director, Special Coagulation Laboratory
Director, Fellowship Program in Pediatric Hematology and Oncology
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI