About Us

ATHN Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors is made up of ATHN Affiliates, management, and consumers, as well as liaisons from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Division of Blood Disorders, the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute (NHLBI) and the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB). We are infinitely grateful for their continued governance and professional guidance.

Our 2017 Board Members

Michael Recht, MD, PhD

Michael Recht, MD, PhD

Chair, ATHN Board of Directors
Professor of Pediatrics and Medicine
Director, The Hemophilia Center
Oregon Health & Science University

Ellis J. Neufeld, MD, PhD

Ellis J. Neufeld, MD, PhD

Clinical Director, Physician-in-Chief, and Executive Vice President
St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital
Memphis, TN

Pam Betz

Pam Betz

Treasurer, ATHN Board of Directors
Premier Management and Business Consulting
Pittsburg, PA

Chris Guelcher, MS, APRN, PPCNP-BC

Secretary, ATHN Board of Directors
Pediatric Nurse Practitioner

Department of Hematology/Oncology

Children's National Medical Center

Washington, DC

Steven Pipe, MD

Steven Pipe, MD

Immediate Past Chair, ATHN Board of Directors

Laurence A. Boxer Research Professor
Professor of Pediatrics and Pathology
Director, Division of Pediatric Hematology and Oncology

Pediatric Medical Director, Hemophilia and Coagulation Disorders Program

Director, Special Coagulation Laboratory

University of Michigan 
Ann Arbor, MI

Jeff Cornett

Vice President of Research & Public Policy
Hemophilia of Georgia, Inc.
Atlanta, GA

Sarah O’Brien, MD

Nationwide Children’s Hospital Hemostasis and Thrombosis Center

Associate Professor of Pediatrics

Ohio State University College of Medicine

Columbus, OH

Aaron Patnode, MBA, MHA

Executive Director, Blue Zones Project Oregon by Healthways
Portland, OR

Leslie Raffini, MD

HTC Director

Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

Division of Hematology

Philadelphia, PA

Robert Sidonio, MD

Emory/CHOA Comprehensive Hemophilia Program
Atlanta, GA

Mark W. Skinner, JD

President, Board of Directors, World Federation of Hemophilia USA

President and CEO, Institute for Policy Advancement, Ltd.

Washington, DC

Christopher E. Walsh, MD, PhD

Associate Professor Medicine, Hematology and Medical Oncology

Mount Sinai School of Medicine

Regional Director, Region II

New York, NY

Janna Journeycake, MD

Ex-Officio Board member (non-voting)
Assistant Professor, CCBD

North Texas Hemophilia and Thrombosis Program-Pediatric Program / Center for Cancer & Blood Disorders

Children's Medical Center


Dallas, TX

W. Keith Hoots, MD

Liaison, NHLBI (non-voting liaison)
Division Director


Bethesda MD

Vanessa Byams, MPH

CDC Liaison (non-voting liaison)
Health Scientist

Division of Blood Disorders

National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Atlanta, GA

Kathryn McLaughlin, MPH

MCHB Liaison (non-voting liaison)
Program Officer, National Hemophilia Program

MCHB/DSCSHN/Genetic Services Branch

Rockville, MD

Diane J. Aschman, MS

Diane J. Aschman, MS

President and CEO
American Thrombosis and Hemostasis Network

Riverwoods, IL

Thank You, 2016 Retiring Board Members

Suzanne L. Kapica. We are grateful to retiring Board members for their exemplary service to ATHN and to the community.

Secure Login

This login is SSL protected